General information

The Law Commission is an independent, publicly funded, central advisory body established by statute to undertake the systematic review, reform and development of the law of New Zealand. Its purpose is to help achieve law that is just, principled, and accessible, and that reflects the heritage and aspirations of the peoples of New Zealand.

The Commissioners are:
Honourable Sir Grant Hammond KNZM – President
Judge Peter Boshier (until December 2015)
Geoff McLay (until February 2016)
Honourable Dr Wayne Mapp QSO

The General Manager of the Law Commission is Roland Daysh

The office of the Law Commission is at Level 19, 171 Featherston Street, Wellington
Postal address: PO Box 2590, Wellington 6140, New Zealand
Document Exchange Number: sp 23534
Telephone: (04) 473-3453, Facsimile: (04) 471-0959


A catalogue record for this title is available from the National Library of New Zealand.

ISBN: 978-1-877569-72-2 (Print)
ISBN: 978-1-877569-71-5 (Online)

ISSN: 0113-2334 (Print)
ISSN: 1177-6196 (Online)

This title may be cited as NZLC R137

This title is also available on the Internet at the Law Commission’s website: